It’s Been Awhile

a poem by Christina

It’s been awhile since I felt love,
Felt the allegory of happiness
The anguish that is within,
Now gone in the amateurism of time
And now it won’t fade.
The color grey is now the shade of my heart.
The darkness that’s torn me apart is now
Hindering me from what is within .
I tried to be the best that I can be
And I tried to be exuberant,
But exuberant isn’t what I can’t be.

She was the one and that is what I thought.
I ought to be someone new or something big,
But, it’s not what it has to be.
It’s not what it has to be.

Time to move forward, move on
From the things ­
That the heart desires and the fact that my Life has higher potential.
Time to move forth.

Leave a Reply

