Diamond In The Ruff

a poem by Jazmane 

Diamond, stencil by Jazmane

Diamond, stencil by Jazmane

I’m  black like charcoal.
Sometimes I feel like my heart is made of charcoal.
My soul has no remorse
Especially when I get exposed to that temperature
or put under a certain amount of pressure .
My mind goes blank
There’s no expression, there’s nothing
But a bright shine, like I had an epiphany
Like  that glittery glow, you’d imagine Angels to have.
You get closer , it fades away
Until you pick me up, dust me off
Cleanse all the dirt and extra clumps
I  won’t shine.
I Feel light as a feather , but heavy like a carrot
then you and I both realize that I was  just
a diamond in The ruff.

Leave a Reply

