How It Really Was

By Gillian

Back in the day, we were pretty well off.
Single dad. Hard working man.
We didn’t have sweet, deep talks
or a mother.
But we did have food on the table
and a sense of security and plenty of sisterly “love”.
I remember in the summer we’d go down to the river 2 swim.
In the fall we’d rake the leaves and at night we’d watch Tales from the Crypt.
In the winter we’d have a tree, and act normal.
 
I miss the freedom of youth.
I miss my dad being my best friend.
I don’t miss the fights or the angry kid I was
and I’m glad I don’t have to answer to anyone any more.
 
When I think of how it was, I feel confused
and wonder how all the stuff I went through can be stuffed into a few years.
I guess I never noticed how fast I was growing.

To read more from Gillian, check out her zine by clicking here:

Click image for a sneak peek!

Click image for a sneak peek!

Leave a Reply

