Tea

a poem by Lanoir

Watercolors by the author

Watercolors by the author

I want attention
I want to dance, act, perform, paint, model.
I want to sing.
I want to fight. I want today. I want tonight.
I want to do what I want to do, when I want to do, where and how I want to without a “no” from him, her, them, or  you.
What you gonna do when I come out and make my move, my groove.
I walk into the room and you feelin the smoothness.
I want to dance like I’ve never danced before
Hip-hop, salsa, meringue, samba, cha-cha, ballroom, tango, ballet.
Sweating, I want to be sweating.
Music so loud my ears ring.
Attend a class, a session with nothing but music blasting
Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson, Sergio Mendes, Missy Elliot, Christina Aguilara, Madonna, Daft Punk, MGMT, Rihanna, and Azealia Banks
whatever genre of music you put on, it doesn’t matter to me!

Tea pane 2I want to be in a room with mirrors on every wall and even on the ceilings!
I want to be worked, jerked, and twerked into shape.
That’s all I want to do is dance, because it gets everything out… these frustrations of mine being around people with energy and liveliness in a drought.
The concentration of perfecting a move, it just excites me.
I want be physically and mentally put to the test because at this moment I am ready for the next challenge.
Because I have an open mind and heart.
I’ve got the time.
Put your cards on the table because I am willing and able to sing like I’ve never singed before.
Open up my voice, my soul  like a door.
I’m ready to step to the greats.
Ella Fitzgerald, Nina Simone, Billie Holiday
Eartha Kitt, Amy Winehouse, Mariah Carey, and Beyonce.
Put me on to it.
I know I can do it.
Because I believe it, the thought of me being a star has already penetrated my brain since I was a little chick.
I can sing like R&B, Rock, Country, Pop, and The Blues, so what it do?
I can make it do what it do.
I can do it.
Can’t you see?
Give me a chance, please someone, just give me a chance!

Tea pane 3Give me!
I’ll make sure to make my voice heard and listened to.
With an inspiring message that will run light years into the future.
Time for this sweat to be smelled.
This art that swims through me like a mermaid in the sea…to be felt.
I am 19 years old and soon to be 20, time to make connects and get respect.
Everything is so fresh and new to me, so many opportunities.
And the Isis Goddess helping me stand on my two feet.

Time to stop just chilling, smoking weed, and watching t.v.
Tired of doing the same old things.
I’m ready to set, run, jump, and shoot off into clouds of dreams.
I’ve got the passion.
The twinkle in my eye.
The Talent.
I know what the world is ready for and it’s boiling within me.
I got it right here in my kettle  and I’m ready to serve the world this delicious tea.
I know what you need.
I don’t got the soda, the juice, or the sweets.
Just this tea.

Tea pane 4

Leave a Reply

