Place

A poem by Krystal

The place I call safe is anywhere from home. Growing up was a demented life and I put it in my mind that I wasn’t going to be a nobody.

I always thought home was jail.

I went to school early morning, from school was to home, and from home straight to my bedroom.

Bed equals Sleep and I knew my day had to start all over again the next day and the days that were next. I never really wanted to live how I lived but it ended up happening anyway.

I could smell the stink coming from downstairs and it was a tense smell. The smell was crack and I knew my life was just the beginning.

My G-ma’s house smelt like old lady but I loved her anyway. Night after night, I was wondering what my life was going to be like when I got older.

But I never knew I was going to make it to see my age 18. Well, I’m 18 now and happy but you never know what’s in store for you next.

One thought on “Place

Leave a Reply

