Homeless

By KR

They see me around town.
Everyday on the same streets.
Grimey.
Lazy.
Homeless.
They don’t know I work everyday.
They don’t know how hard it is to keep a steady income when you have.
Nothing.
Judgmental eyes see me walk down the ally.
To shelter.
If there wasn’t shelter,
I would have to sleep on the streets.
Illegal.
Trespassing.
Tickets I can’t afford.
You see me everyday on the same streets.
Don’t think you know me because I’m
homeless.
How would you feel if you were,
abandoned?
Life torn out from under you.
No job.
No hope.
Forget the struggles you may or may not have.
And put yourself into my shoes.
Tell me how you feel now that you have,
NOTHING.

Leave a Reply

